PhD courses & Seminars 2022/23

PhD courses

NB: this page undergoes continuous modifications and additions. Please check it frequently and/or subscribe to the official PhD Calendar

3D Computer Vision,
Marco Fanfani

Currr: Computer Engineering

12h / 3 CFU’s

Second half of February

Info: marco.fanfani@unifi.it

Ultrasound medical imaging: an engineer’s perspective

Alessandro Ramalli, Piero Tortoli

Currr: Electronics, Electromagnetics and Electrical Systems
8h / 2 CFU’s
April 2023
Info: alessandro.ramalli@unifi.it

Douglas Coimbra de Andrade, D. Sc.

Computer vision applied to assisted and self driving, 

Currr: Computer Engineering

20h / 5 CFU’s

2nd quarter 2023

Info: douglas125@gmail.com

Agnese Mazzinghi, angelo Freni:

RFID Theory, Methods, Applications, and Issues

Cur: Electronics, Electromagnetics and Electrical Systems

16h / 4 CFU
May/June, 2023

Info: agnese.mazzinghi@unifi.it

Info: agnese.mazzinghi@unifi.it

Finite Elements for Engineers
Giuseppe Pelosi, Stefano Selleri
Curr: Electronics, Electromagnetics and Electrical Systems
8h / 2 CFU

May/June 2023

Info: stefano.selleri@unifi.it

Marianna De Santis (Sapienza, Univ. Roma):

Multiobjective Mixed Integer Programming

Currr: Control, Optimization and Complex Systems

8h / 2 CFU’s

Maggio – Giugno

Info: mdesantis@diag.uniroma1.it

Image restoration: an overview
Fabrizio Argenti
Curr: Telecommunications and Telematics
4h/1CFU
June 2023

Info: fabrizio.argenti@unifi.it

Simone Morosi

Small Satellites Communications and Networks, 

Currr: Telecommunications and Telematics
8h / 2 CFU’s

Fine Giugno – Inizio Luglio

Info: simone.morosi@unifi.it

NONLINEAR AND ROBUST CONSENSUS PROTOCOLS
David Angeli
Curr: Control, Optimization and Complex Systems
4h/1CFU
JULY 2023

Info: david.angeli@unifi.it

Global Optimization
Fabio Schoen
Control, Optimization and Complex Systems
8h / 2CFU
January 16-19, 2023 

Info: fabio.schoen@unifi.it

Deep Learning with Memory

Federico Becattini

Currr: Computer Engineering

12h / 3 CFU’s

Lectures: 17/01: 9-12; 19/01: 9-12; 24/01: 9-12; 26/01: 9-12

Info: federico.becattini@unifi.it

*: PhD course proposal, still to be approved by the PhD committee 

PhD Seminars

  • 2022/11/08 – Intelligent cybersecurity (Prof. Ivan Zelinka, VSB – Technical University of Ostrava (Czech Republic))
    Organized by prof Giacomo Innocenti
  • 2022/11/09 – Quantum Key Distribution (Prof. Miroslav Voznak, VSB – Technical University of Ostrava (Czech Republic)). Organized by prof. Giacomo Innocenti
  • 2023/01/20 – Orchestration of Software-Defined Infrastructures for Edge Computing Applications – prof Flavio Esposito, Department of Computer Science at Saint Louis University (SLU) – USA (organized by prof. Romano Fantacci)